#recipechallenge Part 2

One Pot Cheesy Smoked Sausage & Pasta Skillet

Well, I followed through on my personal challenge! If you are new to the blog, last week I wanted to experiment with new recipes that included ingredients I already had in my kitchen. My husband and I tend to cook the same items week after week, and needed to add some variety. A satisfying meal should be spent around the dining room table, technology-free, with those you love engaged in great conversation at least once a week. Even with hectic schedules and 12+ hour days, we manage to accomplish this. I hope you can, too!

I stumbled across this tasty recipe buried in my Healthy Meals & Snacks Pinterest board from Yellow Bliss Road (check out this post about my love for Pinterest!). I had ALL the ingredients on her list, except for the Hillshire Farm sausage. But, that’s an easy fix and I was at the grocery store already when I was skimming through my pins deciding on the #recipechallenge meal for the week.

002 (2) 003 (2)

The recipe was easy to follow and the ingredients list includes common kitchen staples like: minced garlic, shredded cheese, onion, salt, tomatoes, and chicken broth… I was a bit disappointed that I only had generic bow-tie noodles and not a box from my new fav noodle brand, Ancient Harvest: Quinoa Products. I wouldn’t classify this skillet as super healthy, as it includes processed sausage.

Here is my experience!

Time to cook sausage and onions: 15 minutes (this got really “soupy” and I actually had to drain the water from the onions so it would continue to cook)

Time to cook with noodles: 15 minutes (there was still liquid that hadn’t evaporate into the noodles, so add about 5 more minutes here)

Time to devour my plate: Ha, not long! It was warm, cheesy (I added more cheese than specified), and filling. There are some necessary tweeks I needed to make along the way to keep the skillet from becoming soupy, as I wanted a thick, hearty meal.

And the hubby says: “The noodles probably could have been cooked before being added to the skillet. A few I bit into seemed like they could have used a few more minutes to soak up the broth. But, it was really good!

005 (2) 009 (2)

All in all, Yellow Bliss Road provided us with another meal to add to a successful #recipechallenge. There were plenty of leftovers after we each ate a heaping helping at dinner. We will definitely be making this skillet again in the future. I hope you try it out and if so, let me know what you tasted!

Stay tuned for next week’s recipe!

xx Jen

**this is not a sponsored post – all opinions are my own

 

Leave a Reply

