My Nightly Skin Care Routine & Favorite Products

After a bit of a hiatus, I’m back blogging! I missed it, but really enjoyed some quality time with my fabulous grandmother. Check out my Instagram to see some pictures of our wonderful adventures!

So, let’s get started! My skin care routine has become a bit of an infatuation for me. Since junior high I’ve struggled to find products and a routine that kept my skin clear, moisturized, and soft. I’ve tried Proactive, OTC, random concoctions, you name it, I tried it. Sadly, very few things worked. I’m going to blame most of it on teenage hormones followed by a very stressful college course load. A few years ago, things took a turn for the better! I became ridiculously passionate about sticking to a consistent evening routine. With that, I’ve found some fabulous products and my skin has never been better.

Check out my evening skin care steps below:

Step #1: Johnson’s Baby Oil

Screenshot_2015-08-08-11-09-31 (2)This little trick was passed down from my fabulous grandmother, then to my mom, and she passed it down to me! I use Johnson’s Baby Oil to remove my waterproof make-up, primarily my mascara and eye liner. It is inexpensive and a little goes a long way, literally. I put a little bit (seriously, tiny amount) on a tissue and hold against my closed eyes. This begins to dissolve the mascara and allows me to gently wipe it away. It leaves NO residual mascara on my lashes, not even close to the lash line. Wiped clean! It protects the sensitive skin around my eyes and nourishes my eye lashes, which are brittle and sparse anyway.

Step #2: Oxy Skin Clearing Cleansing Pads

Screenshot_2015-08-08-11-10-15 (2)Now, these wipes are an acne medication formula. I do not suffer from acne, but I swear by these things. After using the baby oil, I wipe my face with two of these and it literally takes off ALL my makeup and leaves my skin just ever so slightly exfoliated. Using these allows my cleanser to work to its full potential. By taking away all the makeup, oil, and other factors from the day, my face feels primed for cleansing. If I had to pick only one product from my evening routine, this would be a strong contender.

Step #3: Garnier Nourishing Cleansing Oil

IMG_20150803_160757I’ve heard a lot of hype about facial cleansing oils. I was initially skeptical of adding “oil” to my face. Who wants more oil on their skin? I was at the drugstore and saw this Garnier facial oil and threw it in my basket…no high hopes in this purchase. I was sorely mistaken! I. Love. This. Stuff. I love it so much, I even got my grandmother hooked on it during her visit and I ordered one for her when she arrived home! Garnier better not discontinue this little miracle bottle. It leaves my skin so soft and so moisturized. My pores are smaller after using and I use half the amount of my night cream now. Seriously, add this to your routine. You won’t regret it.

Step #4: Olay Total Effects 7 Tone Correcting Night Cream

Screenshot_2015-08-08-11-12-09 (2)I have always enjoyed Olay products. The scent and consistency of their night creams has always worked well for my sensitive skin. I typically find most night creams irritate my skin because of all the ingredients and components added. My face will get red, tight, and swell. This night cream has not done a single thing to irritate my picky skin. After only one week of using this, I found my skin to be more even, supple, and fine lines virtually disappeared. The scent is clean and reminds me of a spa. When applying it is a bit tacky on the skin, but soaks in after a few minutes, leaving a dewy and moisturized effect to the skin. This stuff is great!

If you are looking to switch up your evening cleansing routine or want to try out a new product, I would HIGHLY recommend everything from my current routine. They are all reasonably priced and can be found at your local drugstore or beauty store.

Thanks for stopping by!

xx Jen

 

3 thoughts on “My Nightly Skin Care Routine & Favorite Products

Leave a Reply

