Blueberry Pie Oatmeal

Oatmeal has always been a staple in our household. We use it in smoothies, dinner recipes, and obviously enjoy it solo. The benefits of oats are overwhelming and I encourage you to try them in your different recipes. They never alter the taste, provide consistency, and give your body a healthy carb to run on all.day.long!

As the weather gets cooler, steaming hot, hearty breakfasts are common place in a lot of kitchens. Bacon, omelets, buttered toast, biscuits and sausage gravy, you name it, I enjoy it. But, as I continue to try healthier options, I wanted to incorporate a new spin on oatmeal that still gave that warm, cozy feeling, but is quick, healthy, and easy on the grocery budget. Enter: Blueberry Pie Oatmeal.

Oatmeal IngredientsThe ingredients here are things I always, and I mean always have in my kitchen. The newest member welcomed to my pantry is the Organic Coconut Palm Sugar. I picked this up after hearing some Vegetarian food bloggers rave about it being a fabulous substitute for processed sugar. When I first opened the bag, I was a bit skeptical. It has a super grainy consistency and feels like brown sugar, slightly sticky. It is a bit bitter and doesn’t smell nice. Well, if I’m being honest, I think it stinks. But, incorporated as a sugar substitute, I’m hooked! I’ll probably never use processed sugar again. It is sweet, blends nicely, and tastes yummy in the dishes I’ve tried it in.

So, enough of the sugar babble, let’s talk about creating this recipe. Total time is about 10 minutes from putting the pan on the stove top to plating. The list below is for 1 serving (which I devoured).

  1. Begin boiling 1 and 3/4 cup of water in a pot.Oatmeal on Stove
  2. When the water begins boiling, add 1 cup of oatmeal.
  3. When the water returns to a boil, add 1 heaping teaspoon of Organic Coconut Palm Sugar, 1 teaspoon of Chia Seeds (super food that has no taste and you won’t even know it is there), and 1 cup of frozen blueberries (I’ve used fresh apples, cored and chopped in this same recipe and it.is.fabulous!!! Do try!). Mix well and reduce heat to a simmer.
  4. While simmering for roughly 5 minutes, stir occassionally. As the water begins to evaporate, you don’t want the blueberries to burn to the pot. You’ll notice the oats turning purple as the blueberries heat up and thaw. If this color turns your tummy, try adding the bluBlueberry Oatmealeberries at the very end. They won’t be warmed, but it will still be satisfying.
  5. When cooked, plate, and enjoy! I add a side of sliced banana (or what was salvageable from my super brown nanner). To add a bit more sweetness, you could sprinkle some more Coconut Palm Sugar on top, or some brown sugar if you’re feeling “sweet”.

I hope you try this out in your kitchen, whether with blueberries or fresh apples. Both are super delicious and feel like dessert for breakfast!

Until next time,

xx Jenna

 

One thought on “Blueberry Pie Oatmeal

  1. forkwardthinkingfoodinista says:

    Hi, Fab blog! I have just set up mine, but still in the very early stages! Just making efforts to link in with fellow bloggers to improve our followers and get the word out there for us both. I would appreciate you having a peek at my blog, as I have just published my first post. Feel free to like, comment, follow or just take a peek. Thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

