The Falcon Life Book Club: “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed

MTI4ODM2MDQ1NjYzMDI5MjU4

I read “Wild” several months ago. I typically go for fiction, but after seeing that Reese Witherspoon raved about it, thus taking the lead role in the film, I decided to read it. And if you don’t follow along with her novel choices on Instagram, you should. That woman has some great insight into a fantastic read. As always, I read in paperback. No e-reader for this gal.

This memoir was a tough read for me. The loss and pain that Cheryl felt, ultimately leading to her journey on the Pacific Crest Trail, broke my heart. The writing itself made me feel what she felt. Sometimes to the point I wanted to put the book down. For good. I was always hoping for some happiness and success to evolve out of her struggles. This didn’t happen until the closing of her journey.

I do have reader bias to this text, simply because it shows a real woman. A woman that was immersed in her life, dealing with some serious stuff, trying her absolute best to maintain some type of existence. The beauty of how nature brought her such unique experiences, meeting such eclectic people, and eventually becoming emotionally “healed” in a sense, was so personal. I didn’t realize this until I was done reading. She lets the reader in on a journey that I think most women might keep a secret.

My rating: 4 out of 5. It is an emotional read…I struggled with how raw the emotion was. Nonetheless, the beauty of the journey is worth it.

Now, onto the next read!

xx- Jenna

Leave a Reply

