Drop That Beat

“Without music, life would be a mistake.”  -Friedrich Nietzsche

The soundtrack for my life thus far is what one would expect when creating that movie soundtrack that no one would buy…except me. Random songs remind me of getting dressed for senior Prom, or riding in my best friend’s Lebaron convertible to cheerleading practice in the summer, or while grocery shopping for “cheap” items at Whole Foods with ear buds in trying to be a hipster. I like unique. I like soulful. I like instrumental. I like calming. I like the sound quite often more than the lyrics. Every once in awhile, that song comes around, totally unexpected, and I could listen to it over and over again, alone, not sharing that special sound with anyone until I meet someone who will appreciate it (unlike my mom in the 90’s with Maxwell’s “Fortunate” blaring on the surround sound on Saturday morning. The opening vocals are burned in my mind for eternity (love ya, ma)).

Here’s what is soothing my soul during my current life stage. Whether I’m looking to practice my mindfulness meditation, looking to avoid crying when I’ve had a long day at work, looking away from the bathroom scale after a night of Piada pasta and breadsticks, or just looking for something for my soul:

Picnic Biscuit: Sunset Lover

Sam Beam and Jesca Hoop: Every Songbird Says

DJ Snake feat. Bipolar Sunshine: Middle

Francesca Battistelli: If We’re Honest

Miley Cyrus: Jolene

This music and a lot of others are posted on my SoundCloud-but, fair warning, it isn’t exactly organized, genre specific, artist categorized…it is just whatever felt right at the moment got thrown on a playlist. You’ll see what I mean…

So, friend of the internet, enjoy your musical moments. They are nostalgic reminders of those memories not forgotten but easily ignored.

xx- Jenna

2 thoughts on “Drop That Beat

  1. JJheartblog says:

    Thanks for sharing. Music is so integral to communication and life in general!!
    I saw you were one of my blog followers (which I appreciate SO MUCH) and I just wanted to let you know I moved to a new blog place: http://jjheartblog.com And it would mean so much to me if you followed me there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

