These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things…

20160622_165942.jpg

Does the sample section directly next to the checkout line at your local beauty and cosmetic store send you to a happy place? Those tiny, shiny little bottles tucked in cozy in their brilliantly placed display as you wait in that ridiculously long line, despite there being six registers, but only two open? Your honest goal was to get in and out, knowing full well what you needed and where it was in the store. Unfortunately, your good intentions are thrown into chaos as the perfectly airbrushed beauty associate wearing the latest matte lip color comments on how much she “loves that product”and that mascara is “buy one get one today only” and “can I offer you a bag for all your products as you browse?”

I hate you beauty associate!

Not really, though. You encourage the girly girl deep inside me that wants to try out all the testers in the store, get matched for a high end foundation, spray the little white cards with perfumes and stow them away in my purse, and then, just maybe for a few moments, forget that money doesn’t grow on trees.

My latest trip to my favorite beauty and cosmetic store resulted in the beauty associate literally chatting with me for 30 minutes (using all that fancy cosmetic lingo you only could know from watching Beauty Youtubers) like we were BFF’s since 2nd grade while I innocently shuffled through all the goodies in the sample section at the checkout line. I realized during this experience in the alternate universe of the checkout line, that this selection of items are reasonably priced and allows my fairly cheap self to try out some of the most popular products on the market. Anyone who has been in my bathroom knows that when I find a product I never cheat on it. But, the time has come to venture out.

For all the other women just like me getting sucked in at the sample display, here areΒ a few of my favorite things:

wp-1466632710855.jpg

Not Your Mother’s Clean Freak Refreshing Dry Shampoo

My holy grail dry shampoo, Batiste, was too large to travel with on my recent trip to Las Vegas with my mom. I picked up this sample bottle of dry shampoo and it BLEW ME AWAY! My thick and heavy hair LOVED the revived volume this gave me. As well as ZERO powder residue and a fantastic citrus scent. Has anyone tried other things from this brand? Because this stuff is fantastic!

wp-1466632710850.jpg

Mario Badescu Facial Spray with Aloe, Herb, and Rosewater

I’ve never really understood the purpose of a facial mist, probably because I’ve got the most sensitive skin on the planet. But, the infamous Mario Badescu has made me a believer. The light floral smell, refreshing mist, and summery dewiness this tiny little bottle offered is fabulous. I have used this after cleansing and moisturizing, after applying make-up for an event, and randomly throughout the day because it is freaking hot in north Texas. I’m tempted to try out his other skin care products because this is legit.

wp-1466632710853.jpg

Living Proof Restore Instant Repair

I have NEVER found a cream leave-in hair treatment that did not weight down my thick mane, making it look greasy and stringy. A former student provided me with these samples several weeks ago. I loved it SO much, I have ordered a bottle. I simply apply a tiny amount a few times a week to my damp hair, add in my usual It’s A 10, and style accordingly. Not only do I feel like my hair is trying to resemble Jennifer Aniston’s hair, but the citrus smell and silkiness this miracle provides is everything you want in a treatment. Also, considering I wait WAY too long between hair cuts, this stuff makes my hair look like I just walked out of the salon. Go get you some, girl.

wp-1466632710867.jpg

Kate Somerville Eradikate Acne In A Snap!

Again, another sample from a former student. This tiny little cotton swab has a magical pink tip that soaks up a medicated formula, and when applied to a blemish (I use at night and wash off in the morning) it dries that sucker up and sends it to its grave! One cotton swab is more than enough for multiple blemishes and the individually wrapped swabs are PERFECT for travelling or your purse.

wp-1466632710866.jpg

EOS Lip Balm

Thank you EOS for making something that wasn’t a freaking ball shape from hell! That thing in your purse looked like you were carrying around a freaking ping pong ball for the heck of it. For whatever reason, I like this formula better than that stupid sphere. It feels more slick and this tube is lasting me forever! Only a few ofΒ their scents/flavors transferred to the stick and can be found at most drugstores. Yet again, this is one of the few things I can put on my super sensitive lips without having a reaction…maybe because it is 95% organic!

That’s that! What are a few of your favorite things?

xx- Jenna

**all images and opinions are my own

One thought on “These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things…

Leave a Reply

